Professional Resources

share with Twitter email this

Welcome to the Child Welfare Professional Resources page. On this page, you can learn more about our programs, our publications, resources, information on research and evaluation in child welfare, our conferences and webinars, and opportunities for training and professional development.

Child Welfare at American Humane Association is a national leader in developing programs, policies, training, research and evaluation, and cutting-edge initiatives to prevent and respond to child abuse and neglect. At the same time, we work to strengthen families and communities and enhance child protection systems at the state and county levels.

We work to enhance the ability of local organizations and public agencies to respond effectively to the needs of vulnerable children and families. We provide training for the workforce that addresses issues of child abuse and neglect every day. And we work with child protection professionals and agencies to improve their systems, so that greater emphasis is placed on processes and results that focus on the best interests of children and their families.


WHAT'S NEW:

Calling All Authors

American Humane Association’s quarterly journal, Protecting Children, is seeking abstracts on current methodologies in child welfare research, with the intent of advancing knowledge about cutting-edge techniques, processes or systems of research related to child welfare.

Abstracts are due by May 9, 2011. Read the Call for Abstracts for more information. (PDF)


NOW AVAILABLE!
The newest issue of Protecting Children focuses on public-private partnerships for the prevention of child maltreatment.

American Humane Association professional members receive Protecting Children as part of their membership benefits. If you're not a member, you can order a copy of Protecting Children, or become a member today!


Register Now for the 2011 Conference on Family Group Decision Making and Other Family Engagement Approaches

Registration is now open (PDF) for paper registrations, with on-line registration available by mid-February. We hope you will be able to join us for this exciting and informative conference.


Join us and network with peers on our Facebook pages

Did you know you can keep up-to-date with American Humane Association’s professional resources on Facebook?

We have two pages to meet your needs:


Upcoming Webinars and Virtual Series

March:

Differential Response Webinar Series
Safety Planning in Differential Response
Thursday, March 17, 2011
9 a.m. PDT (10 a.m. MDT, 11 a.m. CDT, noon EDT)

Family Group Decision Making Webinar Series
Why Engage a Family in an FGDM Process?
Wednesday, March 23, 2011
2 p.m. EDT (1 p.m. CDT, noon MDT, 11 a.m. PDT)

April:

Chronic Neglect Virtual Series
Primary Prevention and Parent-Provider Partnerships
• Webinar: April 7, 2011, at 12:30 p.m. EDT
• Virtual community center access: April 1-30, 2011

Differential Response Webinar Series
A Family Intact: An Alternative Response to Domestic Violence
April 21, 2011
Noon - 1:30 p.m. PDT; 1 - 2:30 p.m. MDT; 2 - 3:30 p.m. CDT; 3 - 4:30 p.m. EDT

Family Group Decision Making Webinar Series
Private Family Time: The Gift and the Challenge
Wednesday, April 27, 2011
2 p.m. EDT (1 p.m. CDT, noon MDT, 11 a.m. PDT)

May:

Differential Response Webinar Series
How EARS Creates Positive Change: Using Appreciative Inquiry in Child Welfare Casework Supervision
Thursday, May 19, 2011
Noon EDT (11 a.m. CDT, 10 a.m. MDT, 10 a.m. PDT)

Family Group Decision Making Webinar Series
Focus on Follow-Up
Thursday, May 26, 2011
2 p.m. EDT (1 p.m. CDT, noon MDT, 11 a.m. PDT) 

« Back

  Please enter your contact information.

 

 

 

 

 

If you respond and have not already registered, you will receive periodic updates and communications from American Humane Association.

 

What's this?

   Please leave this field empty